Slowly but surely…..

Getting my Ubuntu running the way i would like wasn’t as easy as I thought, SuSE really does alot of things for u that we take for granted.
I started my trek to configure/install my new box at around 1:15am.

From what I’ve done so far i think i will like Ubuntu and it’s package management “apt-get”. Since I usually have problems with Firefox and some flash/shockwave sites i decided to tackle those first…. I got a lot of help if not MOST help from wiki.ubuntu .

To get Java running I followed the steps listed here i had to:
But before i could do the:

sudo apt-get install fakeroot java-package java-common

I had to add these enable the multiverse repositories. If you notice they repositories start with de…. why do they start with de?? Well when i use the us ones i get nothing but error.. hey it works and the links are still fast.
deb http://de.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ breezy universe main restricted multiverse
deb http://de.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ breezy-security universe main restricted multiverse
deb http://de.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ breezy-updates main restricted universe multiverse

After running:

fakeroot make-jpkg jre-1_5_0_05-linux-i586.bin

I noticed i was getting some

sh: gcc: command not found

sooooooo i had to install gcc :

sudo apt-get install gcc

Isn’t apt-get just cool!!!!
So i went back to:
fakeroot make-jpkg jre-1_5_0_05-linux-i586.bin
sudo dpkg -i sun-j2re1.5_1.5.0+update05_i386.deb

If you are running Breezy, you need to tell Ubuntu to use Sun Java instead of the open source GIJ included with it. Run:

sudo update-alternatives –config java

I tried to install this
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UPower
It supposed to give u a splash screen……

I didn’t really see anythign nice but i’ll look into it

I installed dhcpd and bind but i haven’t messsed with any of the conf files yet so i know they are installed but not running properly.

2 Responses to “Slowly but surely…..”

  1. you’re such a techie! do you think about anything else besides computers?
    nice pic

  2. Actually i do.. BUT that might not be fit for air play…. hehehehehe

Leave a Reply

