Configurations start now….

Hey for the time being until i get my persoanl blog/diary system runnign on my sysetm i’m giong to be posting a lot of linux shit here.
Right now i’m about to configure my DDNS (Dynamic DNS) on my system… I figured i might as well start at the basics. most server realted things need a proper working DNS & DHCP.

Ok i found something interesting… when i was checking my logs i noticed a bunch of entries i NEVER saw before:

Nov 16 22:01:07 localhost kernel: [4327177.220000] atkbd.c: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xaa on isa0060/serio0).
Nov 16 22:01:07 localhost kernel: [4327177.220000] atkbd.c: Use ‘setkeycodes e02a ‘ to make it known.
Nov 16 22:01:07 localhost kernel: [4327177.351000] atkbd.c: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xaa on isa0060/serio0).
Nov 16 22:01:07 localhost kernel: [4327177.351000] atkbd.c: Use ‘setkeycodes e02a ‘ to make it known.
Nov 16 22:03:14 localhost kernel: [4327304.087000] atkbd.c: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xaa on isa0060/serio0).

I noticed I only got those error messages when i pressed the arrow keys on my keyboard?!?!? After doing soem research i found out that for soem reason by defauly breez automatically bind some keys for laptop use. I noticed when i stoppped the process
sudo /etc/init.d/hotkey-setup stop
no more erroneous log entries.. now the thing is stop it permanently.. escpecially since i don’t have a laptop. More digging lead me to do this:

sudo apt-get install rcconf
sudo update-rcconf-guide
sudo rcconf

Then uncheck the hotkey-setup service.

Ok Onward to DHCP…
I noticed unlike SuSE where u edit the /etc/dhcpd.conf itseems like u have to edit the /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf . That shit took me like 2 friggin hours to figure that one out!!! ARRRGHHH!!!!!!

2 Responses to “Configurations start now….”

  1. Life aint easy any more is it. When you say your setting up a dchp and dydns server do you mean you wanna remotely access your system yer?

  2. Nope..
    I mean that i want when a machine comes onto my network the DHCP server on my machine will automatically updae my DNS files.

    Basically instead of remembering or even knowing IP addresses of the various machines on my network I just need to know the name… and i’ll be able to just type the name of machine and it’ll translate to the correct IP address.

Leave a Reply

