VMWare up and running…. sort of

Before I upgraded to Edgy my VMware was working juusss fine No Problem.

That was short lived :-(Upon starting up vmware i got nothing… I click and I click…. so I decided to go to the command prompt and see what that was telling me. I don’t remember the exact message BUTit boiled down to that it could not work. I later found out that i had to reinstall it again… which is not hard btw. So I reinstalled and a big grin from backof my head is slowly coming up to show itself on my face…… then i this error message when i try to start it:

/usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware: /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)
So I’m like what the frig? I google a bit and up with a possible reason WHY it’s not working

…… you have libhal compiled against dbus 0.9, while dbus 0.6 is available on your system as well (libdbus-1.so.2 and libdbus-1.so.3). VMware loads libdbus-1.so.2 for itself, libhal loads libdbus-1.so.3 for itself, and then bad things happen as two libdbuses cannot coexist. If you’ll uninstall package which provides libdbus-1.so.2, crashes will disappear.

A workaround is:

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3 vmware

I’m no linux guru i got this info from UbuntuForums from a Post chameleon_789 made.

Thinking back to my MythTV setup days i decided i should create the remaining 40GB partition that I have to XFS. The reason for that is it is said XFS deals with the large file sizes better than the other FS so I decided to give it a try.

2 Responses to “VMWare up and running…. sort of”

  1. Dude, I don’t understand anything you’re talking about.

  2. They say a picture can say a thousand words…….
    A snapshot of my desktop while i was switching to my WinXP screen …… BUT to give u a better understading of what is going on….. Youtube video

Leave a Reply

