Mythbuntu…

I’ve been using MythTV for a little time now…. I like it. Once you watch TV with a PVR things are never the same. I decided to try out Mythbuntu, not for any apparent reason I just want to see what mythbuntu has to offer.

It took me sometime to install… if it wasn’t one thing it was another :-(. One time I just got a bunch of:

Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block...
Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block...
Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block...

So the mythbuntu CD took FOREVER to load, and yes the CD was good.. I check the MD5SUM and that was good. After that never worked I ended up trying Xubuntu (since mythbuntu uses XFCE4) still no installl, this time different error message though. At one point I was also getting stuck during install :-(. The install would hang at ‘Configuring apt‘… ‘Scanning the mirror‘ step. It just stops at 40%. Trust me this was getting frustrating… I found out the reason for this though.. after like 2hrs of trying various stuff.

It seems like there was something wrong with

I’ve been using MythTV for a little time now…. I like it. Once you watch TV with a PVR things are never the same. I decided to try out Mythbuntu, not for any apparent reason I just want to see what mythbuntu has to offer.

It took me sometime to install… if it wasn’t one thing it was another :-(. One time I just got a bunch of:

Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block...
Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block...
Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block...

So the mythbuntu CD took FOREVER to load, and yes the CD was good.. I check the MD5SUM and that was good. After that never worked I ended up trying Xubuntu (since mythbuntu uses XFCE4) still no installl, this time different error message though. At one point I was also getting stuck during install :-(. The install would hang at ‘Configuring apt‘… ‘Scanning the mirror‘ step. It just stops at 40%. Trust me this was getting frustrating… I found out the reason for this though.. after like 2hrs of trying various stuff.

It seems like there was something wrong with us.archive.ubuntu.com after going into busybox and trying to kill all the wget and sh command that were doing some apt command it ALMOST went back to normal install mode. Like I said though ALMOST.

At the end of the day I just plugged out my rj45 started up the install again and it was smooth sailing.

3 Responses to “Mythbuntu…”

  1. I know your pain, i received the same “Buffer I/O error on device sr0” blah. I’ve installed it fine previously. It is a newer version this time round though (8.1).

  2. I know your pain … I’m on my tenth attempt …. and still failing …

    Hi ho, hi ho .. it’s off to work we go …

  3. Thanks for your thoughts, I was having a hard time installing Debian 5.0 on vmware, your solution of unplugging the “virtual” network connection also worked for me.

    For any strange reason, when I said to the installer don’t use repositories, it didn’t take my answer into account, pffff

    The question is, with unplugged network, will it install everything?

    Isabel

Leave a Reply

