Been Awhile

Wow… well over a year… since my last blog?!?! Ohh well.

I’m setting back my MythTV box… but i need to share some files across my little network.Since i have nix boxes i figured I would set up a NFS share. I’ll set up a samba share also for those times i need to share files with a windows machine.

NFS Server

On the server:

apt-get install nfs-kernel-server nfs-common portmap

then vi /etc/exports

/depot/tvshows  192.168.2.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check)
/deposit        192.168.2.0/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check)
/winstorage/appz        192.168.2.5/255.255.255.0(rw,sync,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check)

I chose the 192.168.x.x format to allow anyone on that particular network access to my NFS shares.

By using no_root_squash we tell NFS access should be made as root.. why you say? Mainly because I also want to be able to write to the direcctory (if our /home share was read-only, this wouldn’t be necessary).

Whenever /etc/exports is modified, we have to run

exportfs -a

to make the changes effective.

NFS Client

First I created the directories where I wanted to mount the NFS shares, e.g.:

mkdir -p /media/nfs/winstorage/
mkdir -p /media/nfs/deposit
mkdir -p /media/nfs/tvshows

To test it out I decided to mount my exported folders 🙂

mount 192.168.2.5:/depot/tvshows /media/nfs/tvshowsmkdir -p /mnt/nfs/home

No Love 😦 I received the below error:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on 192.168.2.5:/depot/tvshows,
missing codepage or helper program, or other error
(for several filesystems (e.g. nfs, cifs) you might
need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program)
In some cases useful info is found in syslog – try
dmesg | tail  or so

i noticed I forgot to install nfs and port map stuff on my client… DUH!!!

apt-get install portmap nfs-common

Afterwards, we can mount them as follows:

enigma@andromeda:~$ mount 192.168.2.5:/depot/tvshows /media/nfs/tvshows
enigma@andromeda:~$

No Error!!! Yippe!!!

One Response to “Been Awhile”

  1. Hey its been a while for me too, but i’m back. Still gonna try for a daily update.. Its been so long since I’ve dabbled around with linux. There’s a ubuntu partition on my computer right now. but my last install of win 7 erased grub from MBR, need to re-install grub. I’m looking to go with enlightenment soon though.

Leave a Reply

