VLC 1.0.5 via source in Lenny

I’ve installed Lenny on Bertha (HP XW4200) to basically be my multimedia pc…. having most of my saved tvshows, anime and maybe PVR (not sure yet)

I’ve wanted to add to this blog for sometime… but to he honest just been to rass lazy to do a writeup.

Anyway let’s get going with the reason for this post. VLC has always been a simple media player 0.8 is SIMPLE!!!! It was killing me.. i missed my vlc goldeneye!

1. I removed all aspects of vlc

apt-get –purge remove vlc

2. Since i’m going to install via source i need build-essentials

apt-get install build-essential

3. Now i tried to satisfy all the development dependencies

apt-get install libqt4-dev libpostproc-dev libavformat-dev libavcodec-dev libavutil-dev libmad0-dev liba52-0.7.4-dev libhal-dev libdbus-1-dev libfribidi-dev libgcrypt11-dev

I also had to install libx11-dev libxpm-dev x11proto-xext-dev libxext-dev

4. Get the source file from here .

tar -jxvf vlc-1.0.5.tar.bz2

5. Compile then install

./configure –disable-swscale –disable-nls –disable-mozilla

If i never added –disable-nls –disable-mozilla i would of ended up with

configure: error: Buggy GNU/libc (version 2.5 - 2.7) present. VLC would crash; there is no viable work-around for this. Check with your distribution vendor on how to update the glibc run-time.

Adding the 2 above options gets me through.

make

I get this error while trying to compile
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lGL

So I had t make a symbolic link

cd /usr/lib

ln -s libGL.so.173.14.09 libGL.so

Then ran the make again…

sudo make install

BAM!!!! vlc 1.0.5 installed!!

Welcome home VLC …. sigh

6 Responses to “VLC 1.0.5 via source in Lenny”

  1. Something is not working appears on the menu but does not open the program, also I have problems with mplayer to watch videos, help please 5.04 am with Debian Lenny i386

  2. me sale este error en:
    Adding the 2 above options gets me through.
    make

    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lXext
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[6]: *** [libglx_plugin.la] Error 1
    make[6]: se sale del directorio `/home/pc05/vlc-1.0.5/modules/video_output/x11′
    make[5]: *** [all] Error 2
    make[5]: se sale del directorio `/home/pc05/vlc-1.0.5/modules/video_output/x11′
    make[4]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[4]: se sale del directorio `/home/pc05/vlc-1.0.5/modules/video_output’
    make[3]: *** [all] Error 2
    make[3]: se sale del directorio `/home/pc05/vlc-1.0.5/modules/video_output’
    make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[2]: se sale del directorio `/home/pc05/vlc-1.0.5/modules’
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: se sale del directorio `/home/pc05/vlc-1.0.5′
    make: *** [all] Error 2
    pc05:/home/pc05/vlc-1.0.5#

    please help

  3. I get error error erro do not
    help please for the love of god

  4. Did u try installing libxtst-dev ??then running make again?

  5. Thank you for this tutorial. Also see these interesting tutorials and a few others:

    http://juliensimon.blogspot.com/2008/12/howto-compiling-ffmpeg-x264-mp3-xvid.html

    http://juliensimon.blogspot.com/2008/12/howto-compiling-vlc-with-all-major.html

    and this one:
    http://forum.videolan.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=74614

    As explained in this last exchange the first time I tried to compile VLC 1.0.5 in my Ubuntu Hardy 8.04LTS, I ended up with lots of errors because lots of packages of this Ubuntu are too old. That is why in this release of Ubuntu vlc is stuck at version 8.6. (As security for my stable system I only upgrade from LTS to LTS, I am more a user than a developper…).

    And now my contribution: after compilation, the vlc-1.0.5 directory has a size of more more than 350 mb. That is a lot, so I thought let me try to delete it altogether, as the executables of vlc are somewhere in /usr/…
    It worked very well! Now I have vlc 1.0.5 with h264 (flash without Adobe) up and running very well, and I also got the 350 mb back on my /home/ disk!

  6. Not only have you reduced pages of documentation to an easy to read and follow guide, it works!
    Greatly appreciated. No more ff*%#ffflash problems for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

